The Online Bible Study I am doing is with She Reads Truth. com. We are studying Nehemiah together. The community of women from various places in the world have become special to me as we exchange thoughts and prayers. Yesterday we memorized the following verse and in response I wrote a short poem. I hope you find meaning in this.

Nehemiah said, “Go and enjoy choice food and sweet drinks, and send some to those who have nothing prepared. This day is holy to our Lord. Do not grieve, for the joy of the Lord is your strength.” (Nehemiah 8:10 NIV)

Stripped bare with no will to continue
the desert is all I can see
Stripped bare, cast out, and abandoned
the ruins fall right at my feet

Stripped bare with nothing to offer
I fall in despair on my knees
Stripped bare, Lord God, I seek You
Send someone to watch over me.

And then on the breath of the morning
The prayers of others float free
And Lift with the wings of His goodness
Clothing and strengthening me

Stripped bare of the sin and the darkness
God’s grace in the petitions for me
Clothed in the strength of His Healing
Surrounded by those who believe

Stripped bare of desire for the spotlight
Alive in the warmth of his love
Stipped bare, gathered in, adopted
Joy rains down from above.

And then on the breath of the morning
My prayers for others float free
They rise with the wind of His Healing
Surrounding those who believe.

And then on the breath of the morning
Gathered together we sing
And rise as one body before Him
Our Savior, our God and our King.

