image

The devotion on the She Reads Truth Site this morning as we study Nehemiah together in community inspired me. Amanda Williams wrote:

Remembering who God is. Realizingwho we are in Him. Recognizing our sin. Repenting and receiving grace.Rejoicing in His goodness. Returningto our lives, ready to speak the Gospel with our words and deeds. Repeat.Do it all again and again.

All of this is worship.

And from my heart these words welled up and over flowed. If only I could write music, I would sing them, but alas no talent in that arena.

Come Worship The Lord God on High, Remembering all He has Done
Come Worship The Lord God on High, the Spirit, the Father, the Son
For He is creator of all of the earth, the one who breathed life in me
Provider, protector, redeemer and Friend, Lord of the wind and the sea!
The Lord who breathed life into me!
The Lord who breathed life into me!

Come Worship The Lord God of Earth, Remembering that he has come
Come Worship The Lord God of Earth, the Spirit, the Father, the Son
For He is Immanuel, Lord God with us, the one who left heaven for me
Provider, protector, redeemer and friend, Calming the wind and the sea
AND Breathing new life into me!
The Lord breathed new life into me!

Come Worship The Lord God of All, Remembering the battle He  won.
Come Worship The Lord God of All,  the Spirit, the Father, the Son.
For He gave his life, my Savior, my Friend, Defeating the wind and the sea
The Lord breathed hope into me
The Lord breathed hope into me

And Now as I stand and greet the new day, aware of all he has done
And Now when the darkness hovers around, I call on Jesus the  Son
Come Worship The Lord God of All, Rejoicing, Returning, Proclaiming His Name
Come Worship The Lord God on High,
Over and Over again.
Over and Over again.

Come Worship The Lord God on High, Proclaiming all he has done
Come Worship The Lord God on High, the Spirit, the Father, the Son
Provider, protector, redeemer and friend, Lord of the wind and the sea
The Lord who breathed Life into me
The Lord who breathed Life into me.

They read from the Book of the Law of God, making it clear and giving the meaning so that the people understood what was being read. Nehemiah said, “Go and enjoy choice food and sweet drinks, and send some to those who have nothing prepared. This day is holy to our Lord. Do not grieve, for the joy of the Lord is your strength.” The whole company that had returned from exile built temporary shelters and lived in them. From the days of Joshua son of Nun until that day, the Israelites had not celebrated it like this. And their joy was very great. (Nehemiah 8:8, 10, 17 NIV)

You turned my wailing into dancing; you removed my sackcloth and clothed me with joy, that my heart may sing your praises and not be silent. Lord my God, I will praise you forever. (Psalm 30:11, 12 NIV)

