image

Morning is the best time for me to get into the Word of God and jump into http://shereadstruth.com 
website for my spiritual caffiene as I sip my other caffiene from a cup.  Today we started a new study, the first study of She Reads Truth’s Second Year.  We are in the letter of 1 Peter and just looked at the first two verses this morning.  Already I am enthralled.

Just look at the first 2 verses with me for a moment and then check out the insights at She Reads Truth.

Peter, an apostle of Jesus Christ, To God’s elect, exiles scattered throughout the provinces of Pontus, Galatia, Cappadocia, Asia and Bithynia, who have been chosen according to the foreknowledge of God the Father, through the sanctifying work of the Spirit, to be obedient to Jesus Christ and sprinkled with his blood: Grace and peace be yours in abundance. (1 Peter 1:1, 2 NIV)

image

WHO?
Peter, Simon one of Jesus’ 12 apostles
Writing to God’s elect
Exiles from Jerusalem
Scattered, but still united

WHY?
Because they are chosen
Sactified
Sprinkled with the blood of Christ
Forgiven
MY PRAYER FOR YOU
Grace and Peace in abundance

What a greeting!  Peter knows these folks and is writing to encourage them though they are living away from home and often in environments hostile to Christians with little contact one to the other.

Can you hear the Holy Spirit in Peter’s greeting shouting out to you and me?  We, too, are elect and scattered, but chosen, sanctified, forgiven.  The same blood of Christ sprinkled on them, spatters down on all of us who love Jesus as well.

After reading this, the following words came to me.  I hope you find them meaningful, but even more I hope you are feeling the Love of God today.

Chosen with the love of the Father
Love flows down to me
Foreknown, forgiven by Father God
Love flows down to me

Filled and fulfilled by the Spirit
Grace flows inside me
Steadied by the work of the Spirit
Grace flows inside me

Sprinkled with the blood of Christ
Christ flows over me
Speckled with the paint of Heaven
Christ flows over me

Chosen, Sprinkled, filled and fulfilled
God’s love flows out of me
Redeemed, Forgiven, Abundantly Free
God’s love flows out of me

“There is a fountain filled with blood, drawn from Emmanuel’s veins, and sinners plunged beneath that flood, lose all their guilty stains.” (William Cowper, 1731-1800)

Grace and Peace in Abundance,

Carolyn

