If I waited till the hurting stopped, 
or the wrong could be made right. 
If I waited for I’m sorry 
or for amends to be in sight, 
I might wait a lifetime, 
waiting for the right time 
and then my life could end 
still holding on to all that pain by failing to forgive.

There in the darkness I find you
Huddling as if you are cold
I watch as you wrap the sheet tighter
Not knowing if I dare be bold…but you’re so alone.

I know that I should feel anger
For the parts of my life that you sold
To fuel the demons within you
But it hurts to see you so broken and old…and alone

If I waited till the hurting stopped, 
or the wrong could be made right. 
If I waited for I’m sorry 
or for amends to be in sight, 
You might wait a lifetime, 
While I wait for the right time 
and then your life could end 
still holding on to all that pain by my failing to forgive.

So I seek for the memories of childhood
And I hear you singing my song, our song in my ear
So I hold your hand, so you won’t be alone
and sing another song…all night long .. do you know I’m here 

I sing as I count each ragged breath
I sing as the night lingers long, hard and cold
At the breaking of dawn, you open your eyes
and lock with mine and I know it’s time..”It’s me, Dad. You’re not alone.”

And then as I sing, “All my trials, Lord, soon be over.”
He leaves on the wings of the morning, He’s free
His trials and demons behind him
Forgiven, freed and the same weight lifted from me.

Don’t wait until the hurting stops, 
or the wrong is made right. 
Don’t wait to hear I’m sorry 
or for amends to be in sight, 
You might wait a lifetime, 
While waiting for the right time 
and then your life could end 
still holding on to all that pain and lose the chance to forgive.

image

