Carefree Adults, Disgusted Teenager...Ah!  Life!
Carefree Adults, Disgusted Teenager…Ah! Life!

When I was a child, I loved dancing across the front lawn, in my bare feet, twirling and twirling until I got so dizzy I fell down.  I loved laying on my back on a pallet on that same lawn at night with the expanse of the Milky Way across the dome of the sky.  Somehow, heat and bugs bothered me less back then.  Truth is I loved the times in my childhood when I could really be a child.  Even the boundaries imposed by parents were safeguards and not so restrictive that they prevented us from digging a huge hole in our backyard in an effort to “dig to China.”

My childhood was shortened by illnesses, financial problems, alcoholism, and a growing sense that I could depend on No ONE, but myself.  And yet, I still had moments when God’s grace reached me, moments of knowing I was not alone.   Even with those moments, after I was around 12, I never lived free.  Not only did my family issues entangle me, but bad choices on my own part led me far from the faith of childhood and from freedom.  And then backed up against a wall, I built, I submitted to Jesus and He has worked in me from then until now to set me free.  I am a work in progress not a finished project, but I am closer to living free than I have ever been before.

As God often does He led me to my next step through a daily ritual I began again in the last 6 months, regular quiet time with Him.  In this process, I recently finished a http://shereadstruth.com study on 1 Peter.  Near the end of the study in the 5th chapter, I encountered a familiar verse:  “Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you. “(1 Peter 5:7 KJV) or in the NIV translation:  “Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.”  Not an unusual reminder, for Jesus preached the message of releasing our burdens to God, long before Peter wrote his letter or Paul wrote, “Be anxious for nothing..” to the Philippians.  So familiar it was, an age old directive, but then I read the verse in The Message:  “Live carefree before God; he is most careful with you.”

And from that came the following verses

He said,
Come, Come bring all your burdens,
Come, Come lay down your problems
Cast off the weight of all of your fears
Lay down the pain, Child, every wee care
‘Cause I’ve got you right there.

Come, Come give me tomorrow
Come, Come share all your sorrows
Cast off the tears, climb on my knee
Snuggle in close, Child, as close as can be
‘Cause you are precious to me.

Live free, Live carefree before me
Carefree, Alive every moment
For I have your burdens and I’ll see you through
Dump all those fears, for I care about you.

I’ve taken your sins and cast them away
I’ve picked up your burdens
I’ll carry you through just cast off your cares
I’ll be care full for you!

And then,

Live free, Carefree before me
Love with the love that comes when you’re free
I’ll never let go, I will see you through
So never look back..I care about you
‘Cause you are precious to me

And I died on a cross, with you on my back, So you could live FREE
Do it for Me!

Blessings on you all,

Carolyn

