Skipper and Max wrestling in the grass
Skipper and Max wrestling in the grass

Watching Skipper, my grandson’s dog, romp and play with our Max in the grass reminds me of the importance of play in all our lives. Travel most places, even some pretty stark conditions, you will see improvised play, using cans for balls, sticks for rackets, chasing, catching, laughing–Ever consider that GOD created the need for play into the DNA of all his creation.

It is not cool here in Kentucky this morning, but there is a breeze and in the shade it is pleasant. A good view, good company and playing dogs for entertainment. image

I wonder why, if I am correct about a play gene, we find it so hard to just let go and do it. I suspect life circumstances, reprogramming, and worry about how we look to others “plays” a major role in stifling the joyful, carefree attitude involved in play. Think of all play does for us, it gets our bodies and minds moving, it teaches us healthy competition, it produces endorphins in the brain, it keeps us healthy and young.

Play can be as sedentary as a board or card game or as active as playing a pick up basketball game. The important thing to remember is the attitude of play differs from the attitude of work. Any of the above activities can become work. Play like the dogs scuffling on the lawn, with no worries.

Maybe that is the point of play afterall to carry us away from Worry…Jesus said:

I tell you not to worry about your life. Don’t worry about having something to eat, drink, or wear. Isn’t life more than food or clothing? Look at the birds in the sky! They don’t plant or harvest. They don’t even store grain in barns. Yet your Father in heaven takes care of them. Aren’t you worth much more than birds? Can worry make you live longer? (Matthew 6:25-27 CEVUS06)

I have a distinct inclination that God has been showing me a better way to live out the time I have here on this earth and playfulness and spontaneity are important components of a life lived in the will of God.

P.S. I am too often like Emma, my granddaughter’s pug-mix, standing on the sidelines and God forgive me, sometimes disapproving! Help me Play More, Lord!

Emma, keeping a watchful eye on Max and Skipper
Emma, keeping a watchful eye on Max and Skipper

