ALOHA
ALOHA

The very best moment in my three time a week Fitness Class is when the instructor says, “Lie on your back, stretch out your arms, stretch out your legs and relax.” Then she dims the lights, sounds of waterfalls, birds, pleasant melodies fill the room, as we enter the “cool down” portion of the class. Some mornings when we are doing wall sits, strength training, leg work, etc. I comfort myself knowing that before we leave, I will hear those anticipated words, once again…and that is the only thing that keeps me going! Anticipating retirement can be like that.

Yesterday, in Lexington, KY I had the opportunity to say “Aloha” to a very special lady. For the final five years of my employment with the Commission for Children with Special Health Care Needs http://chfs.ky.gov/ccshcn , Anne was my boss, my confidante, my best resource on how state government works, and my friend.

During that time she amazed me by completing the work necessary to obtain her Certificate in Public Management while serving as Director of Clinical and Augmentative Services for an agency with multiple offices across Kentucky where direct services are provided to a varied population of children with special health care needs. She also directed the hemophilia program in Kentucky which serves both children and adults. On top of that she had to manage ME, with more private career experience than public, a person who hardly knew the difference between a Statute and a Regulation, but she taught me.

She will enter a new stage of living in less than 10 days. If she lives retirement with the gusto she gave to her career, she is really going to “rock” and I do not mean in a chair.

A career in Public Service mirrors my Fitness Class, lots of warming up, to simply sit at the wall waiting for someone else who is holding the stop watch to let you stand, pushing through the pain, and so on. So to Anne and to others out there chosing to retire, “Aloha”, which is both good-bye and Hello.

Stretch out
Stretch out

“Lie on your back, stretch out your arms, stretch out your legs and relax.”

Tributes
Tributes

