image

Fifty years ago, in August, 1963 I left Frederick, OK to attend Oklahoma State University in Stillwater, OK. It was the first time I had been away from home to actually live. Rules were pretty firm for female freshman students during that era. During the week (M-Th) we were required to be in our dorm by 8:15 pm. I have no idea why the strange curfew time, I guess no one could agree on 8 or 8:30 so the administration split the difference.

My first year at OSU challenged me in ways I had not anticipated. It also was a year of traumatic changes in the United States. During my freshman year, President John Kennedy was assassinated in Dallas. I was in Theater 101, when the teacher entered in tears and dismissed class. In February 1964 I met Terry Kisler, the man I have spent almost 50 years with. He really was a life changer.

Today, our first grandson heads off to Eastern Kentucky University. He plans to study Criminal Justice. I know he is excited, but I know he has a few hesitations, which is why as of yesterday he had not even begun to pack. He enters a new phase of his life along with college Freshmen everywhere. And I am here remembering Terry and I holding him in our arms during the first few hours of his life.

Terry and Jordan, March 13, 1995
Terry and Jordan, March 13, 1995
Jordan and Mimi, March 13, 1995
Jordan and Mimi, March 13, 1995

And then fast forward to the present, Jordan at 18, heading off to college, standing heads taller than either of us.

Mimi and Jordan May 20, 2013
Mimi and Jordan May 20, 2013

Jordan and Papa, May 20, 2013
Jordan and Papa, May 20, 2013

Today’s Scripture at YouVersion.com was:

As you received Christ Jesus the Lord, so continue to live in him. Keep your roots deep in him and have your lives built on him. Be strong in the faith, just as you were taught, and always be thankful. (Colossians 2:6, 7 NCV)

Jordan has been an active participant with his family at First Baptist Church, Madisonville, KY since his birth. He was dedicated there on Father’s Day, 1995. His scripture verse is is Psalm 100:3

Know that the Lord is God. It is he who made us, and we are his, we are his people, the sheep of his pasture.

He accepted Jesus as his savior and was baptized when he was 7 years old. He has done well academically. He has done well socially. But it is still scary stuff to send him off on his own. Are his roots deep enough? Are his wings ready for flight? Is his head screwed on right?

We place him in the hands of God who has loved him, sustained him, and will never leave him. Less scary, when you think of it that way.

I don’t know what opportunities and challenges Jordan will encounter his Freshman year at EKU; I cannot predict world events that will impact him and all of us, but I know where he comes from, the roots of faith, family, and friends that hold him and I know the One who desires to prosper him and not harm him, for he is a lamb in Good Shepherd’s Flock.

image

