Morning
Morning

Yesterday, Terry preached from Hebrews 11:29-12:2 and more than once just as the scripture used the phrase “By Faith”, so did he bringing it into my sphere.  Living by faith doesn’t mean we will escape suffering, but some will.  Living by faith doesn’t mean we will be saved from the lions or cross the Red Sea on dry land, though some experienced that.  Living By Faith means we know where we are going, who is going with us, who we belong to and on whom to fix our eyes. 

As I listened, I took notes.  Recently I started taking notes on the message using my iPad [Brief aside:  some folks thought I was doing email or playing games…oh, well.]  Somehow, my mind became intrigued by the phrase as I remembered the old gospel song, “In the Sweet By and By”  and my fingers began exploring what the message meant to me…not just Terry’s words, but the Word…and I began a series of verses, that may or may not make sense.  Today, I took my verse and wove “In the Sweet By and By” into the script.

There’s a land that is fairer than day

And by faith we can see it afar;

For the father waits over the way

To prepare us a dwelling place there

By Faith I arose this morning
To welcome the day God has made
It is not my first awakening
But it was the first one today
And this dawn will not come again
And this dawn will not come again.

By Faith down through the ages
the children of God traveled on
For some the sea parted
For some the walls fell
While others died by the sword
By Faith they still travel on
By Faith they still travel on

We shall sing on that beautiful shore

The melodious songs of the blessed;

And our spirits shall sorrow no more

Not a sigh for the blessing of rest

By Faith the weak become strong
By Faith the faithful will rise
And yet many a promise is still not fulfilled
But we run to the cheers of the throng
By Faith to claim the prize
By Faith to claim the prize.

To our bountiful father above

We will offer our tribute of praise

For the glorious gift of his love

And the blessings that hallow our days

By Faith we run till we cannot run anymore
By Faith we pass on the torch
We join the crowd cheering the race
Encouraging the faithful from God’s front porch.
By Faith our voices are raised
By Faith our voices are raised

By Faith I rise with the morning
To welcome the day God has made
The promise is closer with every new day
With each morning not nearly so far away
And this dawn will not come again 
And this dawn will not come again


In the sweet by and by

We shall meet on that beautiful shore;

In the sweet by and by

We shall meet on that beautiful shore 

[“In the Sweet By and By” from http://lyrics.doheth.co.uk%5D

image

Dedicating this post to my brother Terry on his birthday!

