However, I consider my life worth nothing to me; my only aim is to finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me—the task of testifying to the good news of God’s grace. (Acts 20:24 NIV)

image

Here in Florida this morning in a place that does not as of yet feel like home–frankly, it all seems a little surreal–I have awaken to thoughts of worth and purpose. Maybe all this introspection comes with decisions that will change our way of life…where we live at least part of the time. If we were doing this buying of property, wintering in Florida stuff, when we were younger…like we could have done that, HA! Perhaps I would feel less torn.

In fact, in our mid forties we did yank up our roots, leave Oklahoma and move to Kentucky, following ministry and career opportunities for both Terry and I. Answering that call brought Terry and I closer together, brought our daughter to the place where she would marry and raise a family, and opened our hearts and beings to wonderful people. I might add it also removed me from micro managing my sons and their wives and families, so yes, it made me a better mother-in-law. Of course, there have been hard times, sad times, but all in all I can see the worth and purpose of it all.

So when I read the verse of the day from YouVersion, I realized I have been focusing inward when I should be opening my heart and mind to this new place, these new people, this mission field. The Holy Spirit has not gifted me as an evangelist, but as one who seeks to encourage and challenge myself and other Christians to know the depth of God’s love through Jesus Christ, our Lord. Whether in Oklahoma, Kentucky, Florida…wherever may I finish the race as one who testifies to the Good News of Jesus Christ.

All prayers appreciated!

Love to you all,

Carolyn

