He was hated and rejected by people. He had much pain and suffering. People would not even look at him. He was hated, and we He was hated and rejected by people. He had much pain and suffering. People would not even look at him. He was hated, and

we didn’t even notice him.

But he took our suffering on him and felt our pain for us. We saw his suffering and thought God was punishing him. (Isaiah 53:3, 4 NCV)

He looked and he saw
the fields ripe with harvest
the hungry crowds pressing round
the blind man, the cripple, the woman at the well
the eager, the cynic, humanity’s masses
the proud and the haughty, too many to tell
He looked, he saw, and he loved us all.

We weren’t pretty or clean
or especially lovable
Still he reached out his hands
He looked deep in our souls
He felt all the suffering
The sin and disease we try to deny
And we looked away, diverted our eyes.

There he lies homeless
under a house made of cardboard
There he lies old, decrepit and shattered
There he lies young, crying and battered
There he lies ill, forgotten, no matter
And like spooked birds we scatter.
He looks and he sees and he weeps for us all.

In the jails of the world
Chained to the wall
By the hands of oppressors
Or self choice gone astray
We choose to not see, quick look away
Lest I be drawn in and where will it all end?
He looks and he sees and he calls to us all.

See me in their eyes, Jesus whispers
Ignoring the ugly, the sick, the lame
Is not bearing my name
See me, when I’m ugly, and full of distain
See me, when I’m scarred deeply by shame
See me, as I saw you and called you by name
See me on the cross and love others the same.

