imageI returned to my exercise class yesterday after several weeks off recovering from surgery. I vowed to take it easy..not overdo..NOT. There I was in that room full of the folks I have been exercising with for over a year and the competitive side of my usually rational, well occasionally rationale, mind kicked in and alas I am still recovering this morning.

Learning about my own foolishness at my age as IF I had never encountered my tendencies before brings me to wondering if I exercise…ok, I admit it, I exercise my foolish tendencies in living out my Christian life.

When Terry had cancer and we went through chemo therapy, chemo and radiation therapy, I tried at first to become SUPER WOMAN! Folks, that did not last long. Thankfully, others..folks I worked with, church members, friends, family all stepped up and supported and prayed us through. I came to a point where I fell before God and said, “I cannot do this.” To which, he responded, “No, NOT if you keep trying to do it all yourself!” So after much screaming and crying, MINE, I began to accept every single offer of help. Know what, I got stronger not weaker…I was enabled to handle much more than I could have handled on my own. Wasn’t easy, would not wish it on my worst enemy, but God and all HIS people carried both Terry and I through.

I have to remind myself in the light of the devotional I am doing with the She Reads Truth community [check it out at Shereadstruth.com] and the facts of life that the trials of life are not an opportunity to flex Christian muscles in front of my Christian friends and fellow exercisers, but are times to seek God, allow his hands to massage my weary heart and troubled mind. I grow and strengthen through trials carried on the prayers of others and as God works with and in me through the darkness.

Carried on the prayers of others
through the fire with flames lapping
Lifted by my sisters and brothers
through the flood, waves slapping
When all I can do is weep and wail,
when I am weak, going under, drowning
The prayers of the righteous prevail
God’s power and redemption surrounding
I flex, I move, I find a voice for praise.
In the fire and flood, there I find grace
With renewed strength, my hands I raise
As I glimpse in the prayers of others, God’s face.

His promise is true that trials strengthen us when we turn to Him and he doesn’t let us go through it alone. So GLAD He has provided this community for so many of us who are living through some pretty awful times.

But now, this is what the Lord says— he who created you, Jacob, he who formed you, Israel: “Do not fear, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze. (Isaiah 43:1, 2 NIV)
image

