Photo credit: crosscards.com
Photo credit: crosscards.com

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. (Jeremiah 29:11, 12 NIV)

Twenty-three years ago I happened (by God’s design) on this passage. For some reason I had never considered it before. I was at an extremely low point in my life, my job had ended, there were financial concerns and then during my morning quiet time this scripture entered my life. I literally lived clinging to these promises, believing and seeking and praying. God brought my whole family through and even carried my husband and I to a new location, where God has continued to bless us. Satan cannot destroy the purposes of God.

As I was clinging and by the way still cling to this scripture I learned an important lesson. I learned that to see this passage as a future promise, something for heaven, something for tomorrow or next year is to allow my mind to limit God. He intends it for “this day.”It may not be “Plans” like the world teaches, with goals, objectives, etc. Sort of, “in 5 years I will be trying out on ‘The Voice’ ” God’s plan may be woven into the fabric of your daily life…God’s plan may be focusing on TODAY, NOW, in the ordinary things you are doing. When you rise giving him thanks, or love your spouse even if he is grumpy or sick or just plain annoying, when you offer your voice in praise, He works His plan in your life. And know what else, He works His plan in you as you bring your vulnerability and insights to others who are covered with grace by this verse. Each of us are different and God intends those differences to work HIS plan in the world

