image

If anyone believes in me, rivers of living water will flow out from that person’s heart, as the Scripture says.” (John 7:38 NCV)

In my rather zig zag walk of faith I am so often like the father of the young boy who prompted by an evil spirit often threw himself into water to drown or into the fire to burn.  This father (Mark 9:14-27) actually brought his son first to Jesus disciples, who were unable to heal him, and then to Jesus.  He really was just exhausting all possible avenues to healing.  He did not have much hope at all.  What spilled out of his heart as he carried his mute son to Jesus exposed his raw emotions.  In his frustration, he engaged in verbal argument with the crowd around Jesus including some Pharisees and teachers of the law…NO ONE can help my son! 

I have been there.  Have you?

I have felt like I have done everything I could to overcome an obstacle, restore a relationship, pay the bills that overextend my budget, calm a distraught child, find healing.  Have you?

When the father shouted his frustration, his anger, his heartache, the overflow of his heart like mine so often is, was acidic and caustic.  He didn’t need the crowd commenting on his son’s condition, he had no use for Jesus disciples, who hadn’t helped his son, and he was not expecting Jesus to step into the midst of the situation.

And Yet, Jesus did.

And so He does for me.  For you.  For all who will believe.

All my caustic rantings, all my tears, all my foolish explorations of worldly solutions sought without his guidance do not keep him from stepping close and asking,

“How long has this been going on?”

The father relates the history of his son’s illness and then, again, like me, says.

“Please help him, if you are able.”

Jesus must close his eyes, shake his head and then look up to see a crowd filled with unbelief and me, hanging by a thumbnail of faith before he reminds me like he did the father of the boy,

“If I am able? All things are possible to one who believes.”

And so with the father, I whisper, “Lord, I believe, help my unbelief.”

To have a heart of belief, to have faith to move mountains, so that rivers of living life giving water flow out of me and splash on others, everyday I must turn loose of the world and let Jesus help me fly.

