image

God’s readiness to give and forgive is now public. Salvation’s available for everyone! We’re being shown how to turn our backs on a godless, indulgent life, and how to take on a God-filled, God-honoring life. This new life is starting right now, and is whetting our appetites for the glorious day when our great God and Savior, Jesus Christ, appears. He offered himself as a sacrifice to free us from a dark, rebellious life into this good, pure life, making us a people he can be proud of, energetic in goodness. (Titus 2:11-14 MSG)

I worked yesterday. Hard stuff for a woman who retired almost two years ago. Rather than sit up in bed, coffee on the night stand, reading my morning devotional, I responded not so eagerly to the call of NPR on my radio at 6 AM. With as much gusto as I could muster, I sprung into a flurry of activity designed to propel me out of the door by 7:30. While not my finest hour, I did manage to get the dogs walked and fed, cereal with fruit prepared for Terry and me and eaten propped up in bed. Oh, and yes, I did get dressed, slapped on makeup all while pondering why one side of my hair turned under while the other flipped out…almost made me flip out.

So, yes, I worked first in Madisonville, KY and then traveling 30 miles south to work the afternoon in Hopkinsville, KY. I finished near 6 PM, exhausted and aware that my food choices for the day following the healthy fruit and bran breakfast played havoc with my sugar levels and gastrointestinal system. The 12 cookies I ate stretched out on the couch watching The Voice did little to assuage the problem. So confession, when I break my routine [work, yesterday], when I get overly tired [9 hours of work plus travel], I am a glutton.

So as you can imagine when I opened the scripture of the day and found these words in The Message version, the Holy Spirit, who living in me was well aware of the effects of my gluttony, convicted me and then reminded me:

“We’re being shown how to turn our backs on a godless, indulgent life, and how to take on a God-filled, God-honoring life”

Wow! It’s a NEW Day! Look at all the promises in this passage.

God’s gone PUBLIC!

His salvation is for EVERYONE!

The NEW life starts RIGHT NOW!

Life with God WHETS our appetites for the final VICTORY.

Jesus sacrifice “frees us from a dark, rebellious life into this good, pure life, making us a people he can be proud of, energetic in goodness.”

So for ALL of us, It is a NEW DAY! I cannot do a thing about yesterday, except live with the consequences, and accept His forgiveness. BUT TODAY, with the help of the Holy Spirit, I can choose to live a God-filled, God-honoring life.

And, I can tuck this scripture in my heart for the next time I embark to work in the public so others can see Christ in me the hope of glory.

Have a great Wednesday!

Carolyn

