Owen and his Mom...the newest member of our family.
Owen and his Mom…the newest member of our family.

Whoever confesses that Jesus is the Son of God has God living inside, and that person lives in God. (1 John 4:15 NCV)

The experience of having another live inside of you is the most intimate of all human experiences. When I was expecting our first child, during those first few months, I knew I was pregnant, but my body told me little else. This was long before ultrasounds that allow expectant mothers to see their unborn child, to hear the heartbeat and see tiny kicks weeks before feeling those movements. One August afternoon when I was lying down for one of my frequent naps, I felt and then saw my unborn son move. A ripple within in sync with the slightest flicker of movement across my belly. The reality of the life within me took hold both of my head and my heart

So it is when the Holy Spirit comes to abide within the believer, from the moment of confession of faith in Jesus Christ, the moment of conception, He enters with a life force that will grow within, that will change forever the believer and that the believer will not be able to contain. In a sense, like Mary, the mother of Jesus, we, who are Christians become Christ-bearers. The Holy Spirit, unlike the unborn child, who will grow and be born a separate being, the Holy Spirit resides within forever, gradually transforming and maturing each Christian until we are born into Heaven.

During the process, like with pregnancy, the changes become more visible, less easily disguised. Like a baby-bump expands, so do the workings of the Holy Spirit within show. The intimacy of pregnancy does not stop, when a child enters the world…the mother and the child remain bonded…forever.

Certainly there are changes in the relationship of a mother and her child as she turns him loose for his first steps and continues to let go as he matures until to all those watching his independence seems complete. Ah! but as a mother of three I know since the first quickening within my womb to now, I have never completely turned loose.

God calls each of us to Him, but when we accept Jesus as our personal savior, He enters the core of our being…AND He never turns loose as He molds us from within, as He quickens our hearts to be like Jesus, as our spirits become entwined with his…even when we try to run away..He remains. We are His and He is ours!

My prayer today is that all will come to know the intimacy of the Holy Spirit within.

Blessings to all who are expecting babies today and to all new mothers, as they marvel at the wonderful miracle of life.

