image

Recently after being retired for over a year I agreed to work a couple of days a week to help out during my friend Cathrine’s maternity leave. Having worked for the Commonwealth of Kentucky for the last 11 years of my career, having traveled extensively throughout the state on the job in a state owned vehicle, and having to be able to get “on-line” in numerous offices, I had all the “Help” numbers at my fingertips and some committed to memory. So it really did not come as a surprise that my temporary fill in position would come with its own set of user names, passwords, special codes for the badge entries. Not only that but once you get a password automatically programmed into your fingers, they require you to change it. Fortunately, they, too, have several “Help” numbers for the various ports of entry required to check schedules, do dictation, review and electronically sign dictation, etc., etc., etc.

In my personal and family life I have a number of help resources as well and I file them under “favorites” on my phone. Nothing makes me sadder than realizing there are folks who have no “help” buttons they can push easily or some who have none at all. I get a sick feeling in my stomach, when I hear stories of folks found dead in their homes because of the odor not because someone cared and came to check on them.

About 4 years before my mother died, while my brother who lived with her was at work, my Mom got stuck, rather unceremoniously on the toilet. The lifted seat that helped her rise had been removed for some reason and so when she sat down, she stayed down. Her wireless phone was out of reach. Several people, including me, tried to reach her that afternoon and after I could not after 3 tries, I called my son in Tulsa to go check on his grandmother. Before he got there, my sister-in-law who also had tried to reach her got there and helped her up. Still, she had sat there for over 2 hours. After that, we got her a Lifeline button, which she did use more than once. She was a bit miffed at me, though I was two states away and did not know her schedule completely, that I had not realized after the first phone call that she needed help. Daughters should be privy to their mother’s prayers to God, just because that’s the way it should be.

I am thankful that my Mom knew how to call on the Ultimate Helper throughout her life from the time she was a little girl. One of the greatest gifts she gave me was a childhood where attending church was expected, so that I could have a base of faith on which to grow. It took me a long time. I was an adult before I came to even understand that The Lord God of the Universe loved me and wanted to guard me, protect me, and save my soul. It took me even longer to understand that there will still be stumbling, falling, and crawling, but He’s got me and there is nothing in this world or the next that can defeat him or cause him to lose his grip.

So today I am grateful that I know how to reach the Ultimate Help Desk with the piddling little issues and with the gigantic overwhelming issues. He promises he will keep me:

I will lift up my eyes to the mountains; From where shall my help come? My help comes from the Lord, Who made heaven and earth. He will not allow your foot to slip; He who keeps you will not slumber. Behold, He who keeps Israel Will neither slumber nor sleep. The Lord is your keeper; The Lord is your shade on your right hand. The sun will not smite you by day, Nor the moon by night. The Lord will protect you from all evil; He will keep your soul. The Lord will guard your going out and your coming in From this time forth and forever. (Psalms 121:1-8 NASB)

My user name is Redeemed
My password is Jesus

Thanks be to God for being the helper who never leaves even if all others should run away. He will carry me across when the time comes in his arms and all my need for HELP will disappear in that passing.

image

