image

I am pausing here near the middle of the month to say a few words about the title of these Thanksgiving posts.

Writing using a title that begins each day as “The Power of a Grateful Heart…” may not make sense to some people or may indeed sound like I am pretty full of myself, as if a few reflections on God’s working in my life and the lives of others makes me powerful. In truth I have little power, if any power, but When I Praise God, When I am Thankful, and When I acknowledge that His ways are greater than my ways….whether I get it or not. God’s power and presence are released as it is written, He inhabits our praise.

But you are holy, you who inhabit the praises of Israel. (Psalms 22:3 WEB)

In the beginning, God created and it was good–it still is.
God does nothing wrong–despite the enemy’s work to malign his name.
God loves justice and mercy–he continues to seek it on the earth.
God’s love never stops, never fails, never ever gives up–even when I turn on the news to disaster after disaster, even when I get that horrible phone call, even when I lose my income, my health, my spouse, my mom, my child, even when madness seems the norm–God never stops loving.

God’s word is true, and everything he does is right. He loves what is right and fair; the Lord’ s love fills the earth. (Psalms 33:4, 5 NCV)

I cannot always praise and thank God based on the events or circumstances of my life or the world. Still I have come to understand that Praising Him when the Red Sea is before me and the Egyptian soldiers behind me, when nothing seems worthy of even a meager thank you, when there is so much darkness, dawn seems impossible, in those times, Praising Him releases his love for me and in me in ways that thrust me forward. When God inhabits the praise of his people, the devil runs for cover. The circumstances of this fallen world may not change, but the people of God do and they carry his love to hurting, angry, frightened souls who need it most. So that is why I have chosen during this Thanksgiving Season to focus on how he has shown me The Power of a Grateful Heart.

