image

I am far from the perfect parent. Still God blessed me with three wonderful children, who I appreciate and love more with each passing year. Somehow with no experience, Terry and I managed to raise them. And, They have grown into fine adults in spite of me by the grace of God.

I sometimes have a hard time realizing that I have a son who will be 48 years old in January…I still remember holding him in my arms…and the time he went on a trip with a friend of his and told his friend’s mother he couldn’t buy a T-shirt with his spending money, because I might need it for groceries. Or, a son who will be 47 in April…I can still see the beautiful smile on his infant face…and the time after he had his bicycle stolen that he taught himself to ride a unicycle. Or, a daughter who will be 45 in May…I still remember frantically looking for her when we she was 3 and finding her three blocks away riding another child’s tricycle in their driveway…she could slip away in a nano second. They have blessed me with the gift of grandchildren, with their friendship, and with their spouses…and have stood with Terry and I through some pretty harrowing experiences.

If you are a parent, you may understand that there are things I did, things I said, things I didn’t say or do that I would like to go back and snatch from the record or yell, “Do Over.” There are also memories of moments that somehow with all my imperfections were just right. There are no “do overs” in life, but that is where grace and forgiveness transform even the bad patches. There is no going back to those great moments, except in pictures and the mind. BUT, there is going forward. There are while I have breath still memories to make, love to give, grace to share, and forgiveness to request.

So my children, Mike, Scott and Brandee…I am so grateful for the fullness you have brought to my life and I ask your forgiveness for those times I didn’t measure up as a parent. I pray that you know you have a Father in Heaven who loves you more than your Dad and I do….SO it has to be a lot…cause we love you a lot.

Thank you Lord for entrusting me with these precious lives. I pray you keep them safely in your hand for eternity. Oh, Lord for these lives I am grateful beyond anything I can put into words…although here I am trying anyway.

