Credit: Alexandrahunter.ca
Credit: Alexandrahunter.ca

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! By his great mercy he gave us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, that is, into an inheritance imperishable, undefiled, and unfading. It is reserved in heaven for you, who by God’s power are protected through faith for a salvation ready to be revealed in the last time. This brings you great joy, although you may have to suffer for a short time in various trials. Such trials show the proven character of your faith, which is much more valuable than gold – gold that is tested by fire, even though it is passing away – and will bring praise and glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed. You have not seen him, but you love him. You do not see him now but you believe in him, and so you rejoice with an indescribable and glorious joy, because you are attaining the goal of your faith – the salvation of your souls. (1 Peter 1:3-9 NET)

Hope is essential to life and to life everlasting. Sometimes I don’t live that way…I don’t live out the hope I have by faith in Jesus Christ. But reading these verses I became aware that having hope is good, but living hope has the power to sustain the Christian through all the battles and minefields of life. Living out our hope draws others to Jesus.

I don’t know why, but sometimes verse works better for me and this came to me today as I considered how grateful I am for the power of the resurrection that allows me to rejoice and to know He is waiting for me with open arms. I want to be the embodiment of Hope…Hope Walking, Talking, Serving, Writing and Worshipping.

Am I living hope?
Know what I mean, do I gleam like gold that has passed through fire,
Or, do I stumble and fall, with downcast eyes, hugging the wall
And dragging one foot?

Am I living hope?
Can you see Jesus in me? Do I live as an heir to the Kingdom of God?
Or do I bleed despair, with questioning eyes, gasping for air,
Cursing the blackness?

Am I living hope?
Though I can’t see, do I still believe that over yonder He is waiting for me?
Does my character shine? Is there light in my eyes? Joy in my heart?
Or, do I hide in the dark?

Am I living hope?
When I have passed, what I’ve done, said or written, will anything last?
Will people know Jesus any better through me? If I am living hope they should see
The footsteps of faith that I leave.

For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor heavenly rulers, nor things that are present, nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, nor anything else in creation will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord. (Romans 8:38, 39 NET)

