Tip and Mitten Primers
Tip and Mitten Primers

Probably because my mother and grandmother read to me, I have always loved the written word. From my first primer when I read Tip and Mitten with exciting words like “Look”, “See”, and “Come” I was a goner. The world of books fascinated me because I soon discovered that I could go anywhere, do anything, be anybody until I reached “The End.”

Carnegie Public Library, Frederick, OK
Carnegie Public Library, Frederick, OK
I got my first library card at the Public Library in Frederick, OK and I still have a library card today. My Grandmother Bryant read Bible Stories to me from her illustrated Bible with a lot of gory pictures in the Old Testament especially…nobody really cared if young children were exposed to horrifying graphics like Abraham, knife poised over a bound Isaac.
Abraham sacrificing Isaac
Abraham sacrificing Isaac
Somehow I survived and I loved the stories…ok, I loved the pictures, too.

Reading came easy to me and I know now it does not come easy to everyone, so that makes me extremely grateful. I have also learned partially because for over 10 years I had a job that kept me on the road that books can be enjoyed without reading. I have listened to thousands of books on tape, CD, and MP3. Libraries loan them free. Great way to pass the miles away when you are traveling Kentucky alone in a car. We have also enjoyed them as a family when traveling.

When I retired my friends at work gave me a Kindle and the world of e-Reading made carrying a library possible, but I still check out library books with paper pages. Being bored becomes difficult when immersed in a book.

Reading also led me to a fascination with the craft of writing and the people who engage in that craft. When I listen to books, I try finishing the author’s thoughts before I hear them. When I read, I pay close attention to transitions, character development, turns of phrase that paint vivid pictures. I do this when I read the Bible also, which is one reason I read one passage of scripture (God’s Word) in multiple translations and paraphrases (Human scholarship). To read Truth through the literary eyes of many helps me understand God’s message to me, which is a living work in me. I am a different person every time I read scripture and so God meets me right where I am.So today my heart is grateful for books, THE BOOK, magazines, newspapers, etc. Books have always been friends, allowing me to experience life through the eyes and words strung together by others have fascinated me. I am thankful and hope to keep on reading and writing for as long as I am able.

My Current Library Book
My Current Library Book

