image
“Envy – I am blessed. My value is not found in my possessions, but in my relationship with my Heavenly Father.” from “20 Things to Give Up for Lent”, Pastor Phil, Lutheran Church of the Good Shepherd, March 4, 2014

When people are tempted, they should not say, “God is tempting me.” Evil cannot tempt God, and God himself does not tempt anyone. But people are tempted when their own evil desire leads them away and traps them. (James 1:13, 14 NCV)

The temptation to Envy finds its origins in ungratefulness and dissatisfaction. Writing those two words saddens me because I realize how pathetic they sound. They paint a picture of a “victim of her circumstances” rather than a “beloved child of God” and one who is “more than a conqueror through Christ Jesus” her Lord. Envy denies Christ’s Blessings. Envy says, “You have not given me as much as You have given her.”

Clearly there is a reason why God included “Do not Covet” in His ten basic steps to a full, happy, blessed life. The definition of covet: “to desire wrongfully, inordinately, or without due regard for the rights of others” expands the reasons God knew envy leads to the troubled, angry, resentful state of covetness…and the news is full of tragic outcomes.

Giving up Envy for Lent requires facing the fact that I do envy others. Duh! It also requires facing the fact that Envy isn’t about admiring what someone else has or has accomplished but shouts “WHY NOT ME?” or worse “THAT SHOULD BE MINE!”…Envy throws the blessings of life in Christ in the face of God, like a ungrateful child.

ENVY destroys Love.
ENVY destroys Self.
ENVY destroys Happiness….you name it…ENVY destroys.

Most of all as I continue on this inward journey this Lent, Envy separates me from Christ. image

Instead of Envy, I will practice gratefulness for all the many blessings God has provided and continues to provide as I live abundantly in Him. I want to be more like Paul as he wrote to the Church at Philippi:

I am not telling you this because I need anything. I have learned to be satisfied with the things I have and with everything that happens. I know how to live when I am poor, and I know how to live when I have plenty. I have learned the secret of being happy at any time in everything that happens, when I have enough to eat and when I go hungry, when I have more than I need and when I do not have enough. I can do all things through Christ, because he gives me strength. (Philippians 4:11-13 NCV)

All I have , all I need is in Christ Jesus, my Lord.

