imageOur Pastor, Daniel Saunders (Nortonville First Christian Church and Victory Church, Madisonville) has begun a sermon series on “How Christians should live in Perilous Times.” His scripture text for the past two Sundays has been II Timothy 3. His messages encourage us to look to God, God’s Word, and within ourselves so that each of us can line up with God and His Word. He makes the point that I need not busy myself with what my fellow Christians’ behavior, attitude, or walk with Jesus looks like, but to examine myself.

One of the first points he made this past Sunday morning was

“God has a plan. He knows what is coming. He is not taken by surprise by ANYTHING! He never says “I didn’t see that coming!”

Sometimes we panic. Some folks live in a state of panic. Sometimes perilous times paralyze us. BUT

God never panics!! An emergency in my life or in the world does not constitute a need for panic in God.”

Then he told us that 400 plus times in the scripture God tells us “it came to pass..” I guess you could take that more than one way, but one way is that it isn’t going to stay like this forever.

Secondly, he reminded us of the significance of the last verses in Chapter 3:

All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the servant of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work. (‭2 Timothy‬ ‭3‬:‭16-17‬ NIV)

From Genesis to Revelation Scripture is God Breathed, except where the human author i.e. Paul says “in my opinion”. God guards and watches over his word.

And then he reminded ME that if I am letting Sunday Morning be my only encounter with God’s Word I am in danger of becoming anemic spiritually and poor nourishment in any part of life depletes my ability to function.

Normal course of life happenings can be like mountains when the body, mind and spirit are weakened. Getting dressed in the morning, let alone pulling on the “full armor of God” and welding the sword of the Spirit (THE WORD) and praying might bring on a full paralyzing panic attack, IF I do not prepare.

And so, Pastor Dan
Grace and Peace to you from our Lord Jesus Christ,

To better prepare myself for these PERILOUS TIMES, I opened the Letter to the Church at Ephesus this morning and am preparing to study, contemplate, pray, and publish my discoveries as I read these familiar words with new eyes. I did a little study on the city itself and looked at what Jesus revealed to St. John in Revelation about this Church.

Thank you for reminding me that “Our God gets personally involved in our lives. He has us on his radar. We are his. He cares. The Holy Spirit binds us to him.”

So for the next (how ever long it takes) period of time, I hope to share what God has for me this time through Ephesians and maybe some others will join me on this journey.

Blessings on you and Sharon, Hunter and Mariah and ALL those you love.

