I am to be THANKFUL! Thanksgiving in all things, in all seasons, every day not just one day in the year, that message rings clear throughout the scripture. Still there are seasons that prompt me to center in gratitude. So for 30 days I will consider blessings both obvious and obscure.

Without practice, gratitude withers and my faith tumbles into a mire of questioning like the world questions: “If there is a good God, why does He allow____” As a Christian, I struggle like the psalmists did, I sometimes cry out to God, “Where are you?” “Can you not intervene?” “I am surrounded by my enemies.” Do I really want to be blessed by God? Blessed as Jesus in the beginning of his sermon on the mountain taught, even the persecuted, insulted, lied about part.

Like all humankind my tendency to self protection kicks up a notch when faced with ridicule, falsehoods, or insults. Being blessed by God is not for sissies. Living out the admonition:

Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. (‭1 Thessalonians‬ ‭5‬:‭16-18‬ NIV)

It does not come naturally, nor does it come from pumping up my spiritual muscles. It comes from surrendering to the Holy Spirit and just DOING it even before I feel the Spirit working in any situation.

Oh, to be blessed by God this Thanksgiving, so that I can be grateful in all circumstances, even when I am weak and broken. Amen.

IMG_2453-0.JPG

