image

Inside an emptiness that only Christ can fill, a void that cries out parched by the dry wells of the world, a hunger for more, I am grateful for these needs. I have tried filling my spiritual belly with the offerings of this world. No matter how appealing they appear to my eyes, no matter how tantalizing the popular notions of success, no matter how easy it would be to stuff my head with worldly wisdom, Christ says:

‘Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.’ (‭Matthew‬ ‭5‬:‭6‬ NIV)

So I am grateful for the hunger and thirst that leads me to scripture, to prayer, and to the mental contemplation of a God whose Grace is sufficient and whose promises are true. For I know that ONE DAY:

‘Never again will they hunger; never again will they thirst. The sun will not beat down on them,’ nor any scorching heat. For the Lamb at the center of the throne will be their shepherd; ‘he will lead them to springs of living water.’ ‘And God will wipe away every tear from their eyes.’ ” (‭Revelation‬ ‭7‬:‭16-17‬ NIV)

One day fulfillment will come!

Until then I will continue to be hungry and thirsty. I will come to the table of the Lord, receive His body and His blood. I will seek Him in the scripture and in others who love Him, for there is blessing in traveling this road with others who are hungry and thirsty for righteousness.

