image

Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted. (‭Matthew‬ ‭5‬:‭4‬ NIV)

Sorrow’s presence in varying degrees shadows humanity. Headlines, the Evening News, media coverage airs and re-airs the trials, tragedies and tumult of the world. Within moments, events of sorrow are in our faces…and yes, I mourn as the consequences of living in this broken world become known.

I am grateful that I can weep and mourn and I am convinced that the closer I can get to Christ, the more my tears will be in sync with God’s. I desire to be heartbroken over anything that breaks the heart of God.

As a human my sorrow often manifests itself in the wake of loss and I believe God cares about the smallest matter that concerns each of his children. And yet there are specific things in scripture that indicate “Godly sorrow” issues.

One of these is injustice, another, care for the poor, and paramount is SIN.

To truly mourn sin, I must begin with myself. I am forgiven, but that does not release me to sin. In fact, it actually compels me to discover and grieve sins that I had not even considered sin so that I can repent. It is an ongoing searching, deeper and deeper as the Spirit illuminates even the tiny crevices where I have tucked away my dirty laundry. And when found to see it as God sees it, to know it to hurt him and to repent.

Godly sorrow brings repentance that leads to salvation and leaves no regret, but worldly sorrow brings death. See what this godly sorrow has produced in you: what earnestness, what eagerness to clear yourselves, what indignation, what alarm, what longing, what concern, what readiness to see justice done. At every point you have proved yourselves to be innocent in this matter. (‭2 Corinthians‬ ‭7‬:‭10-11‬ NIV)

But that mourning of my own sin leads me to know understand even better that God weeps over any sinner who is lost. So I am grateful that I can pray for all to come to know Jesus as Lord. It changes the way I view the world, the world God so Loved and still does. I weep not only for the abused but for the abuser, because God knows the sickness of the abuser’s heart and still sent Jesus to die.

A Christian who dies and goes to glory leaves folks who will mourn the loss. But the non-Christian who dies, no matter how many mourn his passing, loses everything.

That breaks God’s heart!

So, let us pray, work, and mourn for those who do not know the saving power of the Grace of our Savior and Lord Jesus Christ.

We are privileged and blessed to do so. For that I am grateful.

