image

Purity that extends deeper than surface appearances comes with at a price. I am grateful for the One who paid that price. Even though He knew what a garbage pit my interior self was in.

A Deep Cleansing of my soul, like deep cleaning of a home, requires HELP! Or more precisely, The Helper promised by Jesus Christ to his followers, The Holy Spirit. First, like cleaning a room there are decisions to be made, what to keep, what to give to someone else, and what to throw away. Other eyes are often needed lest I cling to something best thrown in the trash.

And you know what else, it requires on going reevaluation, maintenance, and relinquishment to His wisdom in matters of purity of heart. I do tend to drag stuff out of the ash heap at times. It is a never ending cleaning job, but fortunately, the Holy Spirit does the heavy lifting, because we are promised that he will not stop purifying his followers:

‘being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.’ (‭Philippians‬ ‭1‬:‭6‬ NIV)

How I set my mind to this matters. It matters what I allow into my inner self, into the temple of the Lord that I do not entertain impure thoughts.

We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ. (‭2 Corinthians‬ ‭10‬:‭5‬ NIV)

It matters that I allow the Holy Spirit full access to every corner of my life and that I open my eyes to see and take in that which will work to make me pure so that ONE day I will see GOD.

“Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.” (‭Philippians‬ ‭4‬:‭8‬ NIV)

Thank you, Holy Spirit for helping me everyday to unearth the garbage that needs to be tossed. Help me day upon day to become purer and to encourage purity in others. Amen

Purer in heart, O God, help me to be;
May I devote my life wholly to Thee:
Watch Thou my wayward feet,
Guide me with counsel sweet;
Purer in heart, help me to be.

Purer in heart, O God, help me to be;
Teach me to do Thy will most lovingly;
Be Thou my Friend and Guide,
Let me with Thee abide;
Purer in heart, help me to be.

Purer in heart, O God, help me to be;
Until Thy holy face one day I see:
Keep me from secret sin,
Reign Thou my soul within;
Purer in heart, help me to be.

Words: Fannie E. Davison 1877

Music: James H. Fillmore, Sr.

