“Stand your ground”, according to God. Attacks will come. The web of Satan’s schemes will lure and sometimes ensnare, but I am not alone, I am not untrained, I am not unarmed, but none of this comes from me. This is the picture of the blessedness in this verse:

Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the earth. (‭Matthew‬ ‭5‬:‭5‬ NIV)

Meekness, controlled strength that honors God.

image

“The velvet sheathing the steel demurely, in the trained light grip that holds so surely.” (John Brown’s Body, Stephen Vincent Benet)

Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. (‭Ephesians‬ ‭6‬:‭13‬ NIV)

I will struggle to be a peacemaker, to be merciful, to be pure, while carrying sorrow, hungering, thirsting, aware that I am poor in spirit and trying not to be overcome. I will sprinkle the bit of salt I have in me on others. I will remind myself daily just how blessed I am because of all of this. However, if I try to do this in my own strength, I am continuing to ignore the provisions GOD has provided me.

First, He promises me his strength, his power and he reminds me that He has provided all the equipment I need to stand against the devil’s schemes.

Second, He knows there will be some who battle in flesh and blood wars, but He reminds me that as a Christian if we strip away all the evil in this world we will find the root cause, the powers of darkness and spiritual forces of evil must be recognized as the enemy.

Third, He lets me know that every defensive piece needs to be in place and then I am to stand firm.

Fourth, He shows me the the offensive weapons in my arsenal, the Word of God and Prayer.

So on this day, when we honor Veterans of the United States of America, when we honor the day World War I came to an end, we are thankful for the service of men and women who have defended our national freedoms.

And spiritually, I am thankful that God has provided everything I need to battle the unseen monsters in the spiritual realm until the day of Christ arrives. He has provided all I need to be meek in a world of bluster and disgraceful acts of terror. I am truly blessed.

