Sunday November 16th we traveled, Terry, my brother Tom, and our dogs Max and Emma from Central Florida to Western Kentucky. We left this

image

And traveled over 700 miles SAFELY to awaken to this

image

Thank you, Lord for safe passage, a warm home, time with family for the holidays and yes even for the snow. Amen

And so on this snowy Monday Morning I consider that Jesus gave us the perfect prayer, not that we should recite it without thinking, but that it should be a model and also a form for prayer. It is not the only prayer of Jesus in the scripture, nor the only prayer in the Bible, but it is a gift, so that if I cannot think of words to pray, these are perfect.

This, then, is how you should pray:

“ ‘Our Father in heaven,

Our, not my, or your…Father in Heaven

hallowed be your name,

Holy is God’s Name, deserving adoration and honor.

your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.

Let God’s kingdom be established in this world and His will be done in every corner of this world, my life, my family, my community, my country…His will be done just as it is in Heaven

Give us today our daily bread.

What I need to get through this day, Lord, please provide it. Physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual bread to sustain and nurture so that I can grow in grace.

And forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors.

Forgive us and give us the capacity to forgive so that our relationship with you can be closer and closer

And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from the evil one. ’

Temptations abound. Put a hedge of protection around us and those we love so that we do not stumble, fall and get dragged under. Do not let Satan’s schemes harm us or our relationship with You.

And once again Father carve these words on my heart that I might not sin against you by holding back forgiveness from anyone.

For if you forgive other people when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. But if you do not forgive others their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins. (‭Matthew‬ ‭6‬:‭9-15‬ NIV)

‬ ‭‬

