image

You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye. (‭Matthew‬ ‭7‬:‭5‬ NIV)

Jesus’ words, everyone of them, speak directly to me.

If I read Matthew 7:1-5 and immediately consider all the judgmental people, all the hypocrites I know, then I am failing to look Jesus in the eye and fess up. If I have a piece of sawdust in my eye believe me it feels like a plank and I certainly am in no place to criticize others, when I cannot see beyond the pain.

So thank you Lord for showing me that my judgmental nature comes less from reasonable consideration of another’s actions or inactions, nor does it emit from spiritual discernment.

My judgment of others arises from the pit of pain that I cannot see past and have not allowed the blood of Christ to heal.

And so on this Eighteenth Day of Thanksgiving, I give praise and thanks to God for loving me enough not to let me ignorantly stand in judgment of others. I thank him for showing me the damage the plank in my eye does to me keeping me from loving the way Christ loves.

