The journey of 786 miles begins at 5:30 AM EST, at least ours did, with one “U” Turn to flip the switch on the hot water heater, one missed exit off Florida Highway 429 onto the Florida Turnpike North and three Senior citizens, two dogs determined to complete the trip safely.  One mile after another until we pulled into our driveway in Kentucky at 7:45 PM CST.  Exhausted. Road Weary. THANKFUL!

Kentucky home November 16, 2015
Kentucky home
November 16, 2015

“Yet I am always with you; you hold me by my right hand. You guide me with your counsel, and afterward you will take me into glory. Whom have I in heaven but you? And earth has nothing I desire besides you. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.”
‭‭Psalm‬ ‭73:23-26‬ ‭NIV‬‬

Today I am thankful for the physical modern world,

from

  • accessible roads,
  • a reliable vehicle,
  • available fuel,
  • funds to purchase fuel and food,
  • recorded books (we finished two) and
  • helpful people along the way

to

my husband, brother, and even the dogs who travel without being short tempered or difficult.

Today I am thankful for God, who no matter what happens on any journey in this life, in fact, on this trip from birth to death and beyond, HE WHO loves not just me but all my fellow travelers, that He is the ‘strength of my heart.’  And for how He has taught me to pray.  My deepest prayer for the world comes from the prayer Jesus taught his followers:

Our Father

Who art in heaven

Hallowed be YOUR NAME

Your kingdom come

YOUR WILL BE DONE (His perfect will)

ON EARTH AS IT IS IN HEAVEN.  (God’s  will in the lives of those I love, and even those I call my enemy or who call me their enemy)

Give us this day our daily bread (physical, mental, and spiritual provision one day at a time)

Forgive us our trespasses (when I infringe on God’s place or my fellow travelers)

As we forgive my trespassers (when others infringe on me)

Lead us not into temptation

BUT DELIVER US FROM EVIL (both without and within).

For Thine is the Kingdom and the Power and the Glory FOREVER AND EVER.  Amen.

